I am soooooooo super excited because I signed up for a beginner’s quilting class in a quilt shop in our neighbourhood. I am excited for a few reasons:

1. There is a quilt shop IN. OUR. NEIGHBOURHOOD. We certainly did not have one of those in Singapore.

2. It is a hip little place called Spool of Thread Sewing Lounge, with fun fabric with amazing prints that I love. Cute prints like bicycles and polka dots. Not granny prints like poinsettias or fall leaves. (No offense to grannies, or people who like poinsettias or fall leave prints. They just aren’t my thing.)

3. Our new apartment is too small for me to set up my sewing machine, so it is fabulous to have a place to go and sew.

4. I really don’t know how to quilt. I tried to wing it. It was hard.

So yay! Here is a pic of the sample quilt they have in the store.

 

It’s small, either for a baby, or for on your lap when you are watching TV. Soon, I need to purchase the fabric for my own quilt and I can choose any colours I want. I’m not sure how I feel about having white as the main colour…..any suggestions for an alternative? I’d love to hear your ideas!

