Here’s another end of the year retrospective…about books I read this year that I fell in love with…in no particular order:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett– I avoided reading this for a while because I didn’t think it would be good. There was so much hype, it made me lose interest, sort of like ‘Oprah’s Booklist Syndrome’ (This is a syndrome which possibly only afflicts me, whereby as soon as a book gets labelled as one of Oprah’s choices, I immediately do not want to read it anymore. It doesn’t matter how much I wanted to read it before.) Anyhoo, someone gave it to me as a gift and so I read it and it was actually excellent! I’m so glad it was given to me!

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin– This book was recommended to me and Brett since we are sort of going through a time of transition in our lives, trying to decide what we really want and what will really make us happy. The author has everything you would think would make her totally happy but feels that she could be living a better life. She embarks on a one year project to see if she can make herself happier. It’s an interesting read and some of the things she finds out are a little surprising- things you might not expect to make a person happier.

The Burma Chronicles by Guy Delisle– This book, as the other graphic novels I’ve read of his, is AWESOME! The author and his family move to Burma when his wife, who works for Doctors Without Borders, is transferred there. His other books, Pyongyang and Shenzhen, are equally awesome and based on his time spent living in those places. He has a real eye for picking out the idiosyncrasies of a place.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins– Yes, I know, this is technically a kid’s book. But it’s really engaging and a great story. It’s set in a post apocalyptic future where the characters live in a part of North America controlled by ‘The Capital’. Laws are strict, food is scarce and punishments are severe. Each year, 24 children between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen to participate in The Hunger Games, a televised ‘sporting’ event where the children are put into an arena and only one comes out alive. It sounds shocking and horrible, and it is, but it’s a great story of good triumphing over evil.

Now, I know I must have read more good books this year but…..I can’t think of anything. So we’ll leave it at that.

What books did you guys read that you would recommend? I would love to hear!!!

Next up: Books I’m excited to read in the upcoming year!

